The Alliance News Center

Today’s Top News & Stories from Our Alliance Community
2023 National Leadership Councils

The Alliance Announces 2024 Council Leadership and Council Members


The Alliance is pleased to announce the national leaders serving on its 2024 National Leadership Councils.

“The Alliance unites the organ donation, transplantation and healthcare communities to promote collaboration, cascade innovations and share effective practices. Our three National Leadership Councils serve at the very core of what we do,” says Karri Hobson-Pape, Executive Director of The Alliance.

The Alliance currently has nearly 20 active workgroups focused on developing programs and resources inspired by ideas brought forward by the national councils. In addition, council members serve as advocates within their organizations and across their network to bring issues to the council for discussion and share learning programs that are currently available.

“These national leaders help exchange multidisciplinary expertise, and guide us in developing vital programming for the community of practice,” says Deanna Fenton, Senior Manager of Educational Program Development and Operations, who leads the council activities. “Over the years, we’ve accomplished a great deal with the development of such programs as The Alliance’s Mentorship Program, Advancement Learning Series, and the ever-evolving Community Resource Toolbox.”

The full membership of each council covers the expansive competencies involved in the donation and transplantation continuum. The Alliance Board of Directors also has one liaison representative on each council. You can see additional detail about each member by clicking on their profiles below.

2024 National Donation Leadership Council

  • Chair: Katie McKee, Director, Hospital Services and Donor Family Aftercare, LifeSource
  • Chair-Elect: Rondi Gelbard, MD, Assistant Professor of Surgery, UAB Medicine
  • Immediate Past Chair: Dominic Adorno, Executive Director & President, DonorConnect
  • Board Liaison: Jennifer Prinz, President & CEO, Donor Alliance
Katie McKee
Katie McKee
Mayo Clinic
Rondi Gelbard
Rondi Gelbard
MD, FACSUAB Hospital
Dominic Adorno
Dominic Adorno
Prinz Jennifer 2019
Jennifer Prinz
RN, BSN, MPH-HPADonor Alliance
Sal Guerrero
Salvador Guerrero
MDDonor Network West
DonorAlliance2022 5T3B5446 4x6
Cassie Hertert
Donor Alliance
Paul Lange
Paul Lange
MDDonor Alliance
Fady Nasrallah
MDScripps Memorial Hospital La Jolla
Brendan Parent Crop
Brendan Parent
JDNYU Langone Health
Christine Radlovic Gift Of Life Donor Program
Christine Radolovic
Gift of Life Donor Program
Reef Pref 1
Michelle Reef
MAMississippi Organ Recovery Agency
Christie Ryan
DNP, RNCenter for Organ Recovery and Education
Adam Schiavi
Adam Schiavi
MD, PhDJohns Hopkins Hospital
Lindsey Speir
Lindsey Speir
MHA, BSN, RN, CPTCMid-America Transplant
Schawnté Williams-Taylor

2024 National Transplant Leadership Council

  • Chair: Lindsay Smith, Transplant Quality Director, Vanderbilt Transplant Center
  • Chair-Elect: Christopher Wood, Director, Operations, Transplant Services – UPMC
  • Immediate Past Chair: Tamra Magee, Director, Center for Transplantation, UC San Diego Health
  • Board Liaison: Paul Myoung, Executive Director, Transplant Center, Clinical Informatics and Integration, Division of Transplant Surgery, Mechanical Circulatory Support (MCS) Program – Massachusetts General Hospital
Lindsay Smith
RN, MSNVanderbilt Transplant Center
Christopher Wood
Christopher Wood
MBAUPMC Transplantation Services
Tamra Magee
Tamra Magee
MSN, RNUC San Diego Health
Paul Myoung
Paul Myoung
MHA, FACHEMassachusetts General Hospital
Prince Anand MD
Prince Anand
MD, FACPMUSC - Lancaster
Ff 72883f63e9e69c3b13971be2baaa08e8 Ff AndersonJulie Transplant Staff 3 RT Small
Julie Anderson
MSN, MPH, RN, CCTCMedical University of South Carolina
Joann Brooks
Joann Brooks
MSN, RN, CNMLUniversity of Michigan Transplant Center
Yvette Chapman Highres 4x6 D803
Yvette Chapman
BSN, CCTCMethodist Dallas Medical Center
Brendan Kimball
Brendan Kimball
MBABoston Children's Hospital
Jenna Lawson
Jenna Lawson
MSVanderbilt University Medical Center
Screen Shot 2022 02 14 At 4.02.46 PM
Kristin Mekeel
MDUC San Diego Health
Headshot Low Res
Carson Phillips
MSN, RN, NE-BCUAB Medicine
Randall Sung
Randall Sung
MDUniversity of Michigan

2024 National Innovation Leadership Council

  • Chair: Macey Levan, JD, PhDAssociate Professor of Surgery and Population Health at NYU Grossman School of Medicine, Director, Center for Surgical and Transplant Applied Research Qualitative Core at NYU Langone Health
  • Chair Elect: Kevin Cmunt, Executive Director, Community Foundation – Gift of Hope Organ and Tissue Donor Network
  • Immediate Past Chair: Gina Dunne Smith, Executive Director, International Institute for the Advancement of Medicine (IIAM)
  • Board Liaison: Janice Whaley, President & CEO, Donor Network West
Macey Levan
JD, PhDNYU Langone Health
Kevin Cmunt
Kevin Cmunt
GIft of Hope Organ & Tissue Donor Network
Gina Dunne Smith
Gina Dunne Smith
IIAM (International Institute for the Advancement of Medicine)
Janice F. Whaley Headshot
Janice Whaley
MPH, CPTC, CTBSDonor Network West
Chad Trahan
Chad Trahan
Southwest Transplant Alliance
Aleah Brubaker
Aleah Brubaker
MD, PhDUC San Diego
Barry Friedman
Barry Friedman
RN, FASTGuidry & East
Mark Hobeika
Mark Hobeika
MDHouston Methodist Hospital
Lee Keddie
BSME, PEngCompuMed Inc
Dan Lebovitz
MDAkron Children's Hospital Pediatric
Molina Maria
Maria Molina
MSN, CRNPUniversity of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine
Jennifer Muriett
MSN, BSN, CPTCDonor Alliance
Joseph Scalea
Joseph R. Scalea
MDMedical University of South Carolina
Dirk Slaker
Dirk Slaker
MDOptum Health Solutions
Ff 75e74e72d111abf47c490a9052df8058 Ff NicholasWood Small
Nicholas Wood
PhDHennepin Healthcare Research Institute
The National Councils meet quarterly and have additional workgroup meetings to launch initiatives.  For more information about the councils and their charter, please click here.

The Alliance Partners with SRTR for Annual Programs on Metrics and Performance Improvement
2024 Alliance Community Survey is Now Open

Latest News

Lawson Profile 1

Sharing Knowlege about Transplant Metrics is Meaningful to Vanderbilt’s Jenna Lawson

Navigating Change

Centralized Resource to Support Navigation of Major Regulatory Changes Amid National System Modernization

You Share We Listen 2023

2024 Alliance Community Survey is Now Open

SRTR Partnership

The Alliance Partners with SRTR for Annual Programs on Metrics and Performance Improvement

Care to Share?

Our community is full of good news. Please share yours. A great idea? An inspiring tale? A well-earned award? It’s OK to brag. We all could use good news. Would you like to nominate someone from your organization who goes above and beyond? We celebrate front line heroes. Please fill out our form to let us know.